Parasomnia continues

I am not British.

I’ve never felt part of the country I happen to have been born in. To me it has always been a matter of having been born on this piece of land as opposed to that piece of land. Which is why I’ve never had a problem with people moving around the world to try and improve (or save) their lives. At my abysmal comprehensive school it was made clear how different I was: an identical twin. A punk. Not like other girls. I was surrounded by racists, anti-Semitics and homophobes, with the teachers standing by and letting all the bullying go on around them (and sometimes joining in). I voted Remain in the EU referendum on Thursday for two principles: co-operation and looking outward. This island country was insular enough. Now the disastrous result has been declared, after a campaign based on lies, inciting racial hatred and even murder: one White far-Right sympathiser chose to blame immigrants, refugees and the people who help them for his nondescript life and shot and stabbed to death Jo Cox, one of the few MPs in the UK who appeared to be a decent person. The country is in the hands of the ultra-Right – at all levels. Racial hate crimes have shot up over the last few days – big, White men are telling non-White-British children to ‘go home’ and are throwing bricks through the windows of Turkish and Spanish shops. For them, leaving the EU really means that anyone not exactly like them should leave the UK. It is a battle between the thinkers, the creative people, those who have travelled or educated themselves – and those who have chosen not to, who have no imagination, who fear the Other. It transcends class. I don’t want to live in England anymore, but it’s not practical for me to move to the obvious choice – Scotland, a far more compassionate country which may well vote for independance from the UK and make its own relationship with the EU. In some ways this is reminding me of the backlash the gay community (in London at least) suffered after the Labour landslide victory in the 1997 General Election, after Labour’s pledge for equal rights for us. All my friends were attacked. I talked my way out of several beatings. It was a bad time, but this feels much, much worse. All I can do is reflect this in my writing (something I’ve always done anyway) and intervene, as I have done before, when this stupidity rears its head on the street or anywhere, at least until I can get my bearings and work out what the future holds.

Peace.

 

4 thoughts on “Parasomnia continues

  1. You are not alone in feeling the way you do. I’m still devastated by the result. Such a divisive thing to happen.

    • Good to hear it – I think it’s important to recognise that A LOT of folk are very angry with what’s happened/happening, hence the big demo outside Parliament yesterday against Brexit.

  2. Thank you for sharing your heartfelt response – this seems to be shocking people all over the world. I was amazed to see voters interviewed who not only had no idea what the consequences of their actions might be, they somehow wished for a “do-over” vote, felt their vote wouldn’t count! Now, I know there are plenty of ignorant folks everywhere – we in the US have more than our fair share, who are too apathetic to mind the issues, too lazy, too far removed from a crisis that united the country – but a lot of responsibility rests on the politicians, too. Promising that moneys formerly sent to the EU would now be spent on health care? So bad! And knowingly false! Not to mention, it really sucks that so many people feel left behind or not cared for by politicians/parties – also something we in the US share with the UK. It’s terrible to hear about the rise in hate crimes, the whole thing just saddens me. Good to share our feelings and know that at least there are others out there who share them!

    • Thanks, as ever, for your response. The political clown show here continues, with all kinds of wheeling and dealing going on. There was a well attended pro-EU demonstration in London at the weekend, a lot of people are scared and angry about what has happened – some of whom vote to Leave, who realise they’ve been lied to and don’t think it was a fair vote.

      As for gullibility and stupidity – a universal human failing, I suspect. Which brings me to Donald Trump. I don’t know whether he has a realistic chance of making it to the White House later this year, but he’s another ‘politician’ pandering to fear and ignorance. I sincerely hope he doesn’t get elected, but much of the (Western, at least) world has taken a step to the Right, so who knows?

Leave a Reply

