Five planets in a rising arc

Photo: T Knight

Photo: T Knight

A beautiful and moving sight in the pre-dawn sky this week: Mercury, Venus, Saturn, Mars and Jupiter, in an arc from the south-east to the south-west. A week of amazing things, then. The Ithell Colquhoun exhibition has opened in Penlee Gallery. I’ve had a look around, noting how Death of a Vampire in a Magic Mirror resembled in part a dream I’d had the previous night, and will return to take it in more fully.

My thanks to Whollybooks, who published a piece on Surrealist writer Anna Kavan recently, which stirred me to get hold of Sleep Has His House. How is it possible to be so influenced by a writer I’d never heard of until a few months ago? What I’ve read of her work feels like a continuance of the influence of Colquhoun and Dion Fortune on my writing, despite my not having knowledge of them for so much of my life. Kavan’s belief in dream-life echoes my own lifelong thoughts and experiences.

I’ve started work on a new, as yet untitled, short story, after finishing all the preliminary work and research on the Rebel Dykes article. Two recent apocalyptic dreams are perfect for this story and will be included.

All images and text ©Julie Travis unless otherwise stated.

4 thoughts on “Five planets in a rising arc

  1. Thanks to my work schedule, I’m out & about pre-dawn — and can see the 5 Planets whilst waiting for the uptown bus.

    Will keep an eye out for Anna Kavan’s work. Would love that Ithell Colquhoun exhibit to come to NYC.

    • Plenty of cloud cover here at dawn, I’m hoping it’ll clear one of these mornings so I can get another look.

      As for the exhibition: would love it to tour but I suspect it’s a one-off.

Leave a Reply

