At the death of 2013CE

UNIT cd cover

As 2013 – a year where utter disaster has rocked myself and almost everyone around me – shudders its last, a few plans are showing progress. First of all, as the photo above shows, UNIT’s new album, The Colours of Life, has just been released. It includes the reworked version of The Wasteland mentioned here a while back, a track which appeared on The Apostles/The Joy of Living e.p. Death To Wacky Pop, which appeared back in 1986, plus the bird photographs that I have recently taken for the band.

I am currently in the process of conducting an interview by email of Ellyott Ben Ezzer, which may appear in Curve magazine. The feature will focus on Ellyott’s impressive solo album, 5772, released in May 2013. The article is already part-written, as I have been familiar with Ellyott’s work for many years, and I’m looking forward to completing it. As far as fiction is concerned, Rebecca Shadow is being extensively re-written in order to base it closer to home (in every respect) – fantastique things happening in the deprived ex-industrial heartland of Cornwall is more exciting and relevant to me than having them happen a step away from the world (or this one, at any rate).

Penzance at 4.51 pm, Winter Solstice 2013

Penzance at 4.51 pm, Winter Solstice 2013

Back in 2002, I attended an event by most of the anarchist punk band Crass at
the South Bank, London. For the sake of completion, I have included a link to Barbelith Webzine, which published the review I wrote just after the event.

4 thoughts on “At the death of 2013CE

  1. 2002 seems like forever ago, doesn’t it? So many changes. I’m feeling pretty positive about the coming year, I’ve a hunch it’ll be a vast improvement over this one.

    • 2002 – another life, back in London, for me. I think this year’s been so bad that perhaps we must come out fighting in 2014. It’s a good start that you feel positive! – I’ll try and grab some of those vibes, if I may.

    • It’s a short story. And a right mess at the moment! But it’s shaping up.

      I have actually written two novels, but they’re gathering dust until I get the opportunity to re-write them. The possibility of getting either of them published appears to be close to zero, but I’d like to finish them.

Leave a Reply

