A festival of optimism in the Age of Worthlessness

My self-enforced low profile has come to an abrupt end, after only around a month. Perhaps Beltane has given me some energy. After some more tweaking I realised From The Bones was now actually finished and so it’s been sent to Grey Matter Press to be considered for their forthcoming anthology of dark speculative fiction Ominous Realities. They seem a very organised bunch of people and as they cite Clive Barker as a big influence then it’s definitely worth seeing if a story of mine would fit. After having information forwarded from Ginger Mayerson, the editor of Storylandia journal, about authors giving talks to book clubs, she asked to see any stories I had for possible inclusion to the mixed-genre March 2014 issue (Storylandia is not usually in the horror/dark fantasy camp). I’ve sent her Theophany (the Darkworlds II opus) and The Ferocious Night. And a new story is on the horizon. I have a title, Widdershins, and have begun making a few notes. My forthcoming trip to Jhonn Balance’s memorial in Cumbria, Hadrian’s Wall and Lindisfarne is bound to provide some different perspectives and inspiration so who knows where the story will end up?

As you can see, a trailer for Urban Occult has been put together by Mark West, one of the anthology’s contributors. It’s a snazzy, professional looking job. Nice one, Mark! I’ve yet to read a review of the book that even mentions my story, but someone once said to me, “Your work will only be appreciated after you’re dead!” so perhaps I should expect nothing else.

Beltane was marked in Penzance/Newlyn by the May Horns procession, which I’ve been lucky enough to see since its resurrection a few years back. The sight of a huge Crowman, several Green Men and Women, and dancing folk dressed in green and white, blowing horns and banging drums, making their way along the seafront, is reassuringly oddball.

2 thoughts on “A festival of optimism in the Age of Worthlessness

  1. I just read your story Pieces in Urban Occult and I greatly enjoyed it. It was just breathtaking! I’m curious, have you read Palimpsest by Catherynne M. Valente? There are some similarities to your story, and if you have not read it, I think you would enjoy it. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! It’s great to be getting some feedback on Pieces. I must admit to rarely reading fiction these days – I’m mostly dipping into non-fiction/research stuff on the paranormal/demonology/sacred sites and hadn’t heard of Valente. But I’ve done some research on her this morning and she sounds very interesting, someone who’s made it big in the mainstream while retaining her ‘small press’ credentials/ideology. Shades of Clive Barker here! I willl check out her work.

Leave a Reply

