An ossuary, a final resting place for human skeletal remains

Bodmin Gaol

Bodmin Gaol

COLLUSIONS, COLLABORATIONS AND UPDATES: The Urban Occult horror anthology should be published on 25 March 2013. Interest has been stirring amongst horror bloggers about this book and it will be interesting to see how it is received. Pre-release order packages are still available from Anachron Press.

I’ve begun a writing experiment with Lloyd Pettiford, original singer of The Joy of Living and author of texts on Central American politics and football. This is my first joint fiction project and while neither of us have definite plans to get it published – it may well end up as a personal project – the discipline of working with someone else will be a good experience. I have also been back in touch with Andy Martin of London avant-garde/prog outfit Unit, and it’s likely a couple of my stories (Darkworlds and The Falling Man) will be republished on the band’s website in the near future. He also invited me to return to London to do some recording with the band, and had I kept on playing bass guitar I would probably have accepted his kind offer, but I couldn’t now do the band justice.

Meanwhile, Rosanne Rabinowitz, who I shared a stage with at last year’s Penzance Literary Festival, has had her novella (Helen’s Story, from which she read at the festival) published by PS Publishing. She also now has a website up and running.

2 thoughts on “An ossuary, a final resting place for human skeletal remains

  1. congratulations on the upcoming anthology! very exciting news; I’ll be sure to order a copy. Also: very cool foto. Do you know of that place in the Czech Republic, the Sedlec Ossuary (the “Church of Bones”). I’ve never been to that country, but would love to see it someday. Learning of places like that always reminds me of the melancholy and mournful roots of the ghostly and supernatural.

  2. I’m hoping to get my copy of the book soon. The editor seems very on the ball about getting the anthology seen and reviewed, which is a good sign.

    I took the photo of Bodmin Gaol on a visit there a few years ago. It’s reputed to be haunted (naturally!) and was certainly a dark, freezing, ominous place to be when I was there. As for the ossuary in Sedlec; I’ve seen a photograph from there of a chandelier made from human bones. Gothic overdose! I’ve been to Prague but not Sedlec – it would be fascinating to see the place in the flesh (ho ho) and no doubt it’ll appear in a story somewhere. How could I not include it??

Leave a Reply

