The manifestation of a divine being to a mortal

Lots of news. Yesterday I had an email from Dark River Press, a UK based outfit, accepting The Ferocious Night (an extract from which I’ll be reading at the Penzance Lit Fest) for their next anthology, Tales From The River Vol 2. It’s due to appear around August 1st on Kindle. The Falling Man, of course, should be published in Storylandia in October(ish). So that’s two stories out late summer/autumn. I’m happy to now have everything that is in a fit state to publish either in print or accepted. I’d left Pieces – the tattoo story – aside for a while as I wasn’t completely happy with the opening line but wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with it. That has now fallen into place and after one more read through it will be heading off to a very gay-friendly publisher. As for Darkworlds Part Two, its current title is Theophany. It may change again! It’s now in novella territory, having more or less hit the 10,000 word mark and a long way from finished. Ideas and imagery are just pouring out and I need to focus and make sure it all gets written down. It’s tempting to stop writing longhand and just rip through a lot of it on the computer, but I’m sticking with pen and paper for as long as I can.

Tickets for Slip Into Something Uncomfortable are now available, and hopefully the site will include some information about both Rosanne and myself. I’m reading the extract as often as I can bear to, and I’m getting a bit better at it. As a wise man said to me, “It’s about the words, not you.”

Midsummer seems to be passing without me noticing it as much as I should (and I’d certainly never be able to do so as eloquently as Phillip Carr-Gomm did a few days back). Jim Causley (a very talented Devon folk singer) played in town this week and I was too ill to attend. Tomorrow is Mazey Day – the climax of the Golowan Festival – and I’m not sure how much of the day I’ll see, but if I can get to one of the processions, then I’ll be happy. I’ve lost a little of my enthusiasm for it since two of the local witches were banned from appearing. More fool the Golowan powers that be: part of the witches’ task is to get good weather for the day!

Apart from some newish folk music (King Creosote’s John Taylor’s Month Away and June Tabor) I’ve been re-connecting with Coil circa the Hellraiser period. Many of the tracks on the vinyl release of The Unreleased Themes to Hellraiser did not appear on the cd release and I’ve been trying to hunt them down. There’s also some pieces on Stolen and Contaminated Songs that are from the era, one of Coil’s best.

4 thoughts on “The manifestation of a divine being to a mortal

  1. Great title, great news! Congratulations on your acceptance; sounds like your hard work is paying off more and more. (& I think the fact that you are still taking the time to commemorate such events as Midsummer, is most important.) May your star continue to shine brighter and brighter.

    • Many thanks for your support. I do feel as if things are flowing well now with regard to writing. Mazey Day was a little flat, I felt, but I don’t know if that was just me; the Olympic theme (instead of the usual mythology/folklore) seemed somewhat populist.

  2. Oh wow, I’ve been thinking about you all week – so it’s fantastic to read all the news on the literary front! Congrats on the Dark River Press acceptance, and may Theophany continue to flow. (I tend to write in longhand a great deal as well; it suits my process better.) Bummer about the Golowan festival banning those witches – whatever for?

    • Thank you. Here’s to longhand!

      There was a big hoo-ha a couple of years back, a mixture of anti-pagan hysteria and homophobia. The wise women/witches were banned as a result of this and I think the Mazey Day processions have definately suffered for it. Some of us just don’t feel welcome anymore.

Leave a Reply

