From inside the beehive hut

Inside looking out, Carn Euny

Two days ago I revisited Carn Euny iron age village near Sancreed and managed to spend some time completely alone in the fogou. We (T and I, in celebration of T’s birthday) had approached the ancient village via the old trackway from the bottom of Chapel Carn Brea, around the bottom of Bartinney Hill, between the two Holy Wells and past the dell that has its own strong energy – all sacred sites; as T said it felt like a pilgrimage – to find the village almost deserted (rare, as it is reasonably easy to access from a nearby layby). When we had the place to ourselves I made my way through the fogou entrance and into the older beehive hut. It is a strange place indeed. There are spiders’ webs over various stones but arachnophobia never rears its head. It has a hole at its centre, like a chimney (now grated) so is open to the outside world but is nevertheless absolutely silent. An other-world. The most peaceful place I have been (on the British mainland at least). There is much argument about what purpose fogous served. Possibly storage and hiding places, but a visit to one will leave you in no doubt that they also had ritual purposes. The energy at Carn Euny is undeniable and I will use the experience in future writing.

A little after we arrived home there was the sound of horns blowing: outside was the May Horns procession, five days late from its traditional Beltane date, but still a welcome sight. Amongst the Green Men and Women danced a huge Crow, a recent addition to the procession. It reminded me why I stay here and, along with experiences like the one at Carn Euny, is more than consolation for missing the odd cultural event in the big smoke.

I have just finished doing another read-through of The Ferocious Night for the Penzance Literary Festival. The theme this year is ‘journeys’ and TFN is about Death, the biggest journey of all, so seems even more appropriate now. I had an idea of looking as conservative as possible for the event, so as to appear almost at odds with the subject matter but I’m incapable of looking straight (in any sense of the word), so will go the other way – the brightest, flame red coloured hair and perhaps (it taking place in July) a vest top that will show off my tattoos. But the hope is that the writing will attract more attention that however I look on the day.

Finally, Fougou (Matthew Shaw and Brian Lavelle) have a new album out, titled Further From The Centre of Disturbance. The initial copies come beautifully packaged and the track I’ve heard sounds fantastic, as dark and wonderful as its name would suggest.

4 thoughts on “From inside the beehive hut

  1. Such cool places you go to, I can imagine what creative fruition will come of this visit. Also, lovely lovely music – always good to discover somebody I hadn’t previously known.

  2. West Cornwall is littered with ancient sites – luckily the developers haven’t had things entirely their own way here and I never take it for granted. As for the music – I stumbled upon Matthew Shaw a while back (seems to be the way I find a lot of things!) and was very glad that I did.

  3. I have got to make it out to Cornwall sometime soon and experience places like this for myself; indeed, make a pilgrimage. Are you going to have various shades of red in your hair, like a flickering fire, or just one intense shade? (Also, happy belated birthday to T!)

    • Well, Cornwall has plenty of sites to choose from! You might not want to leave. I like the idea of having flaming red hair, but I’ll be doing it myself, so such artistry is unlikely. And T had quite a birthday extravaganza, lasting about four days; artistry in itself!

Leave a Reply

