“Delicia Jangle Pop!”

A track from my sister’s old band A Strange Desire has popped up on YouTube, and I’m shamelessly linking to it. It’s a great pop song, recorded in 1987 in the wake of The Smiths. I find a lot of the pop groups from that time rather twee but I liked ASD. They played The Timebox a few times, a pub in Chalk Farm (north London) that showcased a lot of such bands. There’s a compilation album around somewhere.

I was thinking of going to Bosiliak Barrow yesterday. It’s a beautiful little Scillonian type chambered cairn. There’s some excavation work going on on nearby settlements, and yesterday was an open day. I was nearby at Lanyon Quoit and saw a group of people around the cairn but didn’t join them. When the vegetation dies down (or gets ripped out by the coming storm) I’ll return for a proper look. These places are always better when they’re quiet, although some archaeologicial information would have been interesting.

Lanyon Quoit

Meanwhile, no pop songs for me as I write. Instead, some Daniel O’Sullivan wierdness, or the story will just be too happy.

Leave a Reply

