The forest is a college, each tree a university

St Michael’s Mount

Here’s an interview with Graeme Hurry of Kzine, the new British SF Kindle-only magazine. I have a story included in the first issue, which should appear during this year, but I’m undecided about how I feel about e-readers. I must admit that I’ve not even seen, yet alone used, a Kindle. I did wonder if iPad’s (etc) would render them obsolete, but I don’t know enough about it all (although Graeme mentions intended improvements to Kindle in the interview, which brings up the question of constantly buying/upgrading gadgets but that’s for another day). My main thought is that you’re not likely to get mugged if you’re on a bus/train reading an old paperback. But which is more eco-friendly? Should forests really be colleges?

The Welcome To Levanthia page now contains a full (more or less) bibliography, the first I have compiled properly. It’s given me a clearer idea of where I’ve been and where I’m heading. I’d forgotten that Bedlam’s Way, which was originally going to be included in a fiction supplement in the New Statesman – which never materialized for reasons never explained – actually appeared in print in Saccade magazine, so that was quite a surprise, expecially as I was thinking of re-writing and extending it and sending it out for publication! The only things I’ve not included are the various fanzines I wrote in the 1980s. They may well appear there soon.

And The Falling Man is now finished as a second draft. I’m keen to get it properly into shape and to one of the editors interested in reading more of my work. As usual, continual tiredness gets in the way.

2 thoughts on “The forest is a college, each tree a university

  1. I really like the way your blog is taking shape!

    I’m also undecided about e-readers. People I’ve met who like and use them either don’t have a lot of space for books, or appreciate that the text can be enlarged for easier reading. I prefer books, but purchase used/secondhand whenever possible – not only to save trees but also to save the dying form of community & exchange of ideas that used bookshops provide.

    • Many thanks. After messing around with various other websites, this place seems to be working out very nicely.

      I haven’t bought a new book for years (Susanna Clarke’s ‘Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell – I just couldn’t wait to read it) and being ‘the book lady’ in a charity shop was quite a dream come true. People would come in with a trolley full of decent books to re-donate and buy a trolley load to take home. But I had to buy them on a ‘one in, one out’ basis due to lack of space so I can see that point of view about e-readers. A learned friend also swears by Kindle as a more affordable way of getting hold of the medical papers he needs.

Leave a Reply

